monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

resolutions '05

Was a pretty ok weekend I must say. Trooped down to Wilson's house on Saturday to watch Liverpool lose to Chelsea. Damn. Met Tim on Sunday to exchange very belated Christmas gifts.
I'm clearing off today and tomorrow. For the sake of making the New Year's weekend extra long. Since nobody else's free at this point in time, all being bogged down by projects, readings and running up and down in repugnant green uniforms, i decided to take some alone time to reflect on what I want to accomplish, what I want to gain, what I want to achieve, my goals, my dreams, my aspirations for 2005. I dozed off after 10 minutes. Anyway. Here's some semblance of my (what some people might call)resolutions.

1.tO sTaY kOOlz n fUnkIezZ aLwAYz!!
....Yeah right. I just said that to scare you guys into thinking i've degenerated into a squeamish teenybopper hanging out at void deck rawker. Don't worry la i'm still only a squeamish teenybopper. But there are people, rolemodels maybe, whom I think I could learn a little something from. Then I'll be cool and funky always. Here's my list.
a)Chester from Linkin Park. There are a lot of marketing gimmicks out there in poprock land, with Avril i-will-punk-you-out-right-after-i-put-on-my-makeup Lavigne being the greatest one of all. (I still love her to bits though.)But there are some you have to give the benefit of doubt to. And I'll give it to Chester. He's scrawny, nerdy and looks like George Looney, but people love him. Everyone from the void decks of Bedok to, well, the void decks of Tampines, think he's brilliant. As much as I hate to admit it, I am a fan of yours, Chester. Thanks for bringing hope to the world.
b)Crush(Krush?). No, it's not the latest WWE wrestler to hit town. Nor is it the DJ that's gonna be playing at Zouk for Chinese New Year. It's actually the name of the sea turtle from the movie Finding Nemo. I will resolve to have his attitude this year. To be more calm, relaxed, easy going and patient. And to do it without the help of hallucinogens. Chill, peace out.
c)Olympic gold medallist turned pro-wrestler Kurt Angle. What happens if people take advantage of your Crush-like attitude and you can take no more? Simple. Learn from Kurt. You look at them with such fury burning in your eyes, take them down so quickly they won't know what hit them and give them such immense and intense pain they plead for mercy, which you give after inflicting more hurt. Hey, it worked in kindergarten, it's gotta work in the real world right?
d)Sportspeople - Tiger Woods, Michael Phelps, Karl Malone etc. I've gotta learn to be more focused. As simple as that.
e)Actor Hugh Grant. Not kool, not funky, just brimming with wit and charm. Smooooth.

2.Rat race, Paper chase.
Plan to get my advanced diploma this year. Study so hard, spend so much money, just to obtain a scrap of modified tree juice with the words 'advanced diploma' printed on it. Don't know if it's worth it, but I guess it's important.

3.Less conflict, more cornflake.
It's not an appeal for world peace, neither am I gonna start asking people 'Where is the love?' That song's best left for shower practice anyway. But i hope to have less intra and interpersonal conflict. You know, try to get a grip, not be too overwhelmed, be more compassionate, and understanding, all that rubbish. Also, must try to eat less crap-tasting food, hence the cornflake bit. Will strive to eat more good(not necessarily healthy)food this year. If it's not good, it's not food.

4.Highway to Hell
Will learn how to drive and hopefully get a licence. Will start learning later this year I guess.

5.The paradox of thrift
...States that if an individual increases the proportion of income he saves, his reduced expenditure on goods will lower total demand in the economy. This is actually assuming the individual has money. Which is why it's so NOT applicable here. My account balance just dropped one digit recently. And no, it's not the last digit damn it. 2005, I will save up.

6.Explore new boundaries.
Will try to travel more, see new places, meet new faces. Will also try to read more widely, watch more movies.

7.Weight, next week then start...
No more procastination. Must start getting fit.

Oh well, guess that's about it.

10:37 a.m. - 2005-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: