monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

buildings with a hundred floors; swinging round revolving doors..

I tell you. Technology + word of mouth = recipe for disaster.

Just the other day in camp, my bunkmates and I had 4 hours to kill. Boredom makes you do weird things, for example snacking incessantly or daydreaming about the weirdest stuff. That day, for some reason unbeknownst to my subconscious, I agreed to, with the help of my friends' video phone, do a live recording of my soulstirring rendition of american idol carrie underwood's version of 'making love out of nothing at all'. Which turned out to be absolutely hideous. Don't get me wrong, I think I have a euphonious, dolce-ssimo voice. But it wasn't my day la. Plus, that freak can hold the high B flat for 20 odd seconds, and I, despite being able to hold my breath long enough to take the lift in my block up six storeys without inhaling any urine fumes, am not able to do so.

Needless to say, that video clip was sent around camp for mass consumption. Feels like paris hilton leh. And just the other day when I was booking out, this person just came up to me and said, "Hey. I saw your making love out of nothing at all." I stood rooted for as long as the time carrie underwood took to hold the B flat. Oh no.

Some crapperlosophy for you guys: "Life hor, is like sky leh. Some people is sun. Because they brighten up your life lor, make you happy happy. Some people leh, is moon. Shine down on you in the dark. Light during your darkest hour. Of course la, some people is complete retards, but that one not counted. Anyway sometimes you get sad because sunset lor, no more sun. The sun is lost! But donch worry, because most of the time got moon come out to help you through darkest hour. Unless you live in antarctica lah. Also, beri important one is that must treasure all your suns and moons, but must treasure your moons more. Moons is more better than suns. Why? Beri simple. Too mush sun hor, bloody hell will kena sunburnt la! But I ask you, who ever kenna moonburn before? Nobody right! You can neber haf too much of moons lor. And I tell you what is lagi better, what is the best. It's if you have moon to give you light, and guiding star to be your guide. Wah lau eh, shiok sia!"(Teow 2005)

To all who've been mooney or guiding-starry in my life in one way or another, be it in the past or present, thank you. There's no other way to put it. Some of you are reading this entry, some aren't, some probably can't be bothered to. But I still thank each and every one of you from the bottom of my heart.

It's been a pretty nice weekend. Went to dr's house to burn mp3 cds on Saturday. Now i've 2 cds worth of fantastic fantastic songs. After that went back to acjc with tim and matt. It's really funny, 3 people in AC PE attire scaling the backgate like monkeys and sneaking into the gym. AC was totally empty on saturday, save for a few people playing soccer and 2 councillors slicing wooden planks. Went to check out the staff board to see if our teachers are still alive and teaching. Fortunately, most are. Went down to da club on Sunday to swim, and accepted weiting's family's invitation for dinner and drinks. Haha thanks! Really, really fun.

Looks like my uncle's only got a few more days to live. I went down to the hospice on Saturday. The hospice is a really really sad place. People in there haven't much days to live, and the place just looks bleak and reeks of death. Seeing all these people awaiting death, it kinda reminds me how transient and ephemeral life is, how we shouldn't take things for granted blah blah you know the rest. As some sort of a wicked irony, the in-house movies were 'Dying young' and 'The sixth sense'. Hmm. Anyway he was moved from the hospice to the hospital for therapy to alleviate his pain. Looking at the state he's in really pains me. The tubes attached to him. The size he's shrunken to. The inability to move. The occasional attempt to pluck out the main tube. The day by day deteoriation of the body. Having so many things to say but not being able to express himself in any way. Not knowing that his condition is terminal. Sigh.

Back when I was a child, before life removed all the innocence
My father would lift me high and dance with my mother and me and then
Spin me around 'til I fell asleep
Then up the stairs he would carry me
And I knew for sure I was loved
If I could get another chance, another walk, another dance with him
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
How I'd love, love, love
To dance with my father again

When I and my mother would disagree
To get my way, I would run from her to him
He'd make me laugh just to comfort me
Then finally make me do just what my mama said
Later that night when I was asleep
He left a dollar under my sheet
Never dreamed that he would be gone from me
If I could steal one final glance, one final step, one final dance with him
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
'Cause I'd love, love, love To dance with my father again

Sometimes I'd listen outside her door
And I'd hear how my mother cried for him
I pray for her even more than me
I pray for her even more than me
I know I'm praying for much too much
But could you send back the only man she loved
I know you don't do it usually
But dear Lord she's dying
To dance with my father again.

Luther Vandross - Dance with my father... Another one of my favourite songs.

11:51 a.m. - 2005-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: