monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we don't know what we've got until we lose it; we don't know what we've been missing till it arrives.

It's been awhile. Well, considering that i'm not in my most organised state of mind no thanks to potent flu medication from good ole Dr.Heng, i'll just randomly drop some experiences, thoughts, feelings, readings, etc that i had in the past few weeks.

My sis's hamster gave birth yesterday. I've never seen baby hamsters before, and when I caught my first glimpse of them yesterday, I was taken aback by the hideosity. Baby hamsters look like the cockroaches served up on fear factor, except for the missing 2 legs and the fact that they're bloody red. Yes, bloody red, in all sense of that phrase. Kinda like vibrating raw chicken slices. I bet in some parts of the world they down baby hamsters with like chardonnay or scotch. Hard to imagine though, that these crescent shaped puddles of rawness will actually turn into cute adorable sought after little hamtaros. Nature is an amazing thing. I hope I go through that same kind of development. Man, did i just type that out loud? Must be the medication.

I was feeling rather down the other day, because of some issues regarding some stuff(that's specificity for you). A bit of despair here, coupled with some unfair treatment there, you know, that kinda thing. So I locked myself in my room and took out my time capsule, which is essentially one jumbo sized airtight bag worth of letters, cards, notes, mementos, ticket stubs, photo albums etc. given to me by friends and family, which I had kept over the years. I felt disgusted at first, because there were bits of blue sticky stuff and rotting hershey's kisses inside. But after going through all the cards and notes and letters, I felt, better, in that indescribably bittersweet kind of way. Some things make you laugh your head off, some make you go 'awww', some lift you up, and some just make the hydraulic pumps in your eyeballs go into overdrive. Add to that Dave Koz playing in your stereo system and, well. Yes, I do get freakishly emotional at times.

Got back the examination results for one of the modules of the course I'm taking. Well, in no way do I mean to sound braggishly idiotic, but, yeah, I aced the damn thing. Haha. Pity though that (as usual) I left my assignment to the very last minute and didn't do too well for that. And they don't give the actual marks so I don't know how I fared in the class. But of course, that's not important, because in life, you only compete with yourself. Hmm. Oh ok who am I kidding? (crosses fingers and hopes for a thrashing of the rest of the class)

"People are like stained glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within."

Remember RTB? If you don't, please refer to annex a, which is my entry dated 11/07/2004. Now, that freak is getting freakier. Not too long ago, he opened my bunk door, let the second hand smoke from his cigarette in to set the atmosphere, and get this, watched my bunkmate and I (pretend to) sleep, before closing the door. Yes, indeed, that is freakier than newborn hamsters. And recently, as I was boarding the bus out of camp at the bus stop, he grabbed me from behind, covered my eyes and was saying something like, "bu zhun shang ba shi! bu zhun shang ba shi! ha ha ha!" Of course I, not being one to raise an unnecessary ruckus, just pushed him away and boarded the bus. Sooner or later, and I certainly hope sooner, someone will be so pissed with his antics that he/she will give him what Mick Foley would call a 'testicular claw'. And yes, it's ok if he wants to be a miscreation in camp, but do these things to me in town, and I will send him wheeling out of wheelock place in a wheelchair.

I'm not being judgemental, by the way. Hahaha.

An interesting characteristic of the Vaspus Teowus species, of which I belong to, is its uncanny ability to be sensitive in seemingly insensitive scenarios and to be insensitive in certain scenarios where sensitivity is required. Possible explanations for this behaviour include inexperience, taking things and people for granted and overdosage of Dr.Heng's flu medication.

Give local music a chance. There is good stuff out there. Of course i'm not referring to hastily formed wannabe bands like, I dunno, void deck vagrants or mama shop maniacs. Neither am I talking about singapore idol. Oh i heard sylvester released his new album entitled 'take flight'. Which is what I would naturally do after listening to it. And his first single, xiang long 18 palms. Goodness. Anyway, I wouldn't even care if it was called xiang long chicken feet. But my point is, there's good stuff out there. Mavis sings real good songs. And I recently heard Tanya Chua's version of Coldplay's 'Yellow'. Very nice. And electrico too. Plus a whole lot of unknowns. Give local music a chance. Wah I sound like the next government campaign.

I've found an apartment and a car type which I hope to be able to own in the near future. I'm sure it'll change with time, but for now, I'm gonna work towards it. It's not an unreasonable goal, but it won't be easy. Ask me if you wanna know. =P

I've been taking long walks around my neighbourhood and the surrounding areas. New leisure pursuit, perhaps? Anyway i've been walking, cutting through estates, climbing multi storey carparks, basically exploring. What can I say? I love this place.








Gotta go get some rest now. Later.

4:11 p.m. - 2005-04-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: