monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

money isn't the root of all evil. the lack of money is.

Just returned from my weekly chill out session at the Amara hotel lounge. As usual, the 3-piece band belted out fantastic renditions of greatest hits. Just a personal opinion: it's much more worth it to pay $14 for a glass of vodka, relax one's glutus maximus on the couch and listen to oldies like can't take my eyes off you, fixing a broken heart, lady in red, dancing queen, wonderful tonight and yesterday once more, than to pay 30 odd bucks to enter some club which plays r&b-hip-hop-pip-pop-flip-flop-crap-rap. Call me sentimental, call me too old for my own good, call me hopelessly pathetic, but yup, that's what i feel. No offence to the clubbers out there.

And here's the lyrics to the song requested by my friend Eugene, 'it might be you' by stephen bishop. Great song. Go take a listen.

Time... I've been passing time
watching trains go by
All of my life...

Lying on the sand, watching seabirds fly
Wishing there would be
Someone waiting home for me...

Something's telling me it might be you
It's telling me it might be you...
All of my life...

Looking back as lovers go walking past...
All of my life
Wondering how they met and what makes it last..

If I found the place
Would I recognize the face?

Something's telling me it might be you
Yeah, it's telling me it might be you...

So many quiet walks to take
So many dreams to wake
And we've so much love to make
I think we're gonna need some time
Maybe all we need is time...
And it's telling me it might be you
All of my life...

I've been saving love songs and lullabies
And there's so much more
No one's ever heard before...

Something's telling me it might be you
Yeah, it's telling me it must be you
And I'm feeling it'll just be you
All of my life...

Listening to that song just really puts me in a, you know, THIS kind of mood:

Yeah, something like this:

You get the drift. But unfortunately, i do know where i stand, and i'm pretty sure that in the end, i'll end up pretty much like this.

Ah. The effects of desporation.

This morning, at bishan, i happened to be at the unfortunate receiving end of a gross encounter with a fellow human being. Someone tried to flirt with me. Now after reading the previous few paragraphs, you would think that i would be ecstatic that such an incident happened. Not so. For the simple reason that the flirter was a skinny malay GUY. One who freaking wore his white butcher singlet the other way around so it would look like a modified spaghetti strap tube top bare back dunno what shit. It was a simple brief encounter. Walked towards him. He smiled. I shivered. He grinned. I quivered. He winked. I died. End of story. Yuck. YUCK. YUCK!!! I could've puked there and then i tell you. Don't get me wrong. I'm ambivalent about homosexuality issues(that i'll elaborate some other time). But to get a flirtatious eyelid flutter from a earring-wearing, skullfaced, scrawny, limp-wristed gay baboon lookalike is another case altogether. What's wrong with me, man? Why must i get attention from the wrong people? Why not someone else? Is there no one else? IS THERE NO ONE ELSE?????????

Also went to the library today to borrow some books on marketing and consumer economics. It's time to get my cerebellum pumping again. Ever since i've enlisted, i've been like suffering from severe cranus rustus, pure stupidity has started to set in, and my standard of english has, erm, how do i describe it, erm, gone down the longkang. Time to read some high quality stuff. As soon as I've finished with my copy of Men's Health.

All right then guys, i'll be off now. Take care, have a great week ahead. I know I won't.

1:51 a.m. - 2004-07-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: