monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

11/12/03

Dear Diary,

It is now 6.17 am in the morning. In less than an hour's time, I will have to make what would probably be the largest transition in my life so far. Perhaps i am reading too much into my enlistment into the army, considering that its only gonna be approximately 2 weeks before i'm out(hopefully) for Christmas, and that, what, hundreds of others are suffering the same fate as me?

But this is meant to be a journal bout how i feel and stuff. And the truth is that i'm feeling pretty crapped up now. No doubt, i've felt that this would be a good thing, that it would be pretty fun and all getting fit, but trust me, when you have 1 hour left before your freedom is suddenly terminated and you swop your IC for the green pass, you really don't feel that good at all. 2 and a half years. What would become of me? Personally i feel that all the hype about Singaporean men being more unfeeling, workaholic, etc. boils down to these 2.5 years. Yes, it may be merely a stereotype. But, as nut and vong have told me, you will get influenced by your surroundings, whether you like it or not. I really hope that i can turn the influences into something that would improve me as a whole. Not to be this uncompassionate freak going on and on bout life in tekong, as if its the stuff life is made out of. But from the looks of it, its hard. I mean, what else can you do?

Of course, the flip side to going in early is that you really make the most of the 2 weeks before enlisting. And i can proudly say i have. Just printed out the KL/Genting travel log, which catface has so labouriously typed for the past 12 hours so that i can read it in tekong. Thanks a mil. Really. 2 trips, and staying out into the wee hours of the night every other day. Nothing more i can ask for, nothing more i can hope for. I'm real thankful.

There's still so many things i wanna do. Haven't done. I wanna upload my trip and prom photos, jam with classmates, play more lan, watch more movies, buy a christmas carol cd and loads of large flashcards(for those who don't get the joke, go watch love actually), get Christmas cards, meet up with more people, call more people on the phone etc. But well, you can't really do anything bout it right? And if i'm actually not goin in early, i'd probably be stoning around at home anyway. Which is actually something worth treasuring, on hindsight. So stoners, stone away before its too late.

Finally, to EVERYONE THAT I KNOW(wanted to make a list but was afraid that i'll miss people out), all my friends and acquaintances, and to all the guys and chio bus =) reading this blog, thanks so much. For the memories, which will definitely not cease. But for now, its time to bid farewell for awhile, so i really hope and pray that y'all take care and enjoy yourselves. To those leaving for overseas, its funny how everything comes full circle and how we'll meet again in the weirdest of circumstances. To those who'll be here, sms me if you want, i'll try my best to reply, if they don't take my phone away from me.

Wanna write more, add a little poem here and there, but time's up, sun's up, readers are bored and vision's blurred(yes, i'm that emotional, in case u don't know). It's time to step into this new lease of life, and 'c'est la vie' through all the shit they give me. Adios amigos.

monkeycrapper logged off at 7.04am

6:17 a.m. - 2003-12-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: