monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we are not human beings having a spiritual experience. we are spiritual beings having a human experience.

2 entries in the space of a few hours. I'd better slow down, else i'll be having nothing to write about in the course of the hols, and that's when the monkey crap turns to donkey crap. See, it's starting already.

Anyway i would like to make use of this entry to state my take on beliefs and religion. It is a great risk I'm taking, because, as I've experienced, religion can make or break a friendship. But since all of u people(with the exception of those bloghoppers who chanced upon this site) reading this are the best friends I've known, I think, no I know, you'll respect my perspective.

I believe in acceptance. I believe that there is a God, and that the truth is out there. The ABSOLUTE truth. The so-called truth that now exists in this screwed up world are invented, or changed over time, by us humans. If not, why are there so many different religions, or branches in one religion? Even within one branch, there can be so many different interpretations, so who are we, as mere mortals, to be so arrogant as to decide what is the truth? Don't get me wrong. I'm not dissing anyone's faith. In fact, I really respect anyone who can really stick by his/her faith. I'm having problems with my own belief system myself, simply because I'm still learning, i'm still on my spiritual journey and enjoying every step of the way. Even though my journey was halted by some people. But it's time to move on.

As nut said, it all depends on the extent of your faith. And I know that the extent of your faith, nut, is nothing short of 100%. And I totally agree with what you said. But what I don't understand is why to so many people, faith has an direct relationship with narrow-mindedness. Does being firm and rigid in your beliefs mean that you can't accept or respect other's beliefs? It's not even about judging who's right or wrong, it's just the simple personal acknowlegement that every one is entitled to their own perspectives.

I choose, personally, to learn from them. Yes, i know that i'll never be able to finish learning, but at least i know that i've enriched myself, and during the course of what i've learned, brought nothing but meaning to my inter and intrapersonal life, my friends and family. That's enough for me. I may not find my answers to my questions, or I might find different answers to the same question, but that will be for me to discern. All orthodox religions contain so many things to learn about. For Christianity as a whole, I've been overwhelmed by the relationship, the spontaneous communion with God. There is a driving force. For Buddhism, I've been reading on how one's mind can be such a powerful tool and how, coupled with forgiveness and acceptance, inner peace can be obtained. And i totally believe in the power of one's mind. Totally. And Islam. How dedication and perserverance can actually strengthen one's beliefs. All these and more. I'm still learning.

Which is why I don't agree with my friend that most religions are put here on earth by the devil to entice people. Yes, that train of thought totally makes sense, and I can accept it, but I do not believe it. Just can't. Furthermore, what's the point of jumping right into believing when one does not even, as the Buddhists say, understand the basis behind the beliefs? How many blind people believe for the sake of believing, or because others are believing? Penguin is an example. And if he reads this, he'll simply say that he's also on a spiritual journey. Whatever, man.

I don't know how many disagreements will result after i click the send button, but i just feel i need to write a little bout what i feel. It may change over time, I may decide to follow a particular belief system sometime later. Yes I know, later may be too late, but I'd rather not rush into things. And please, this is just what I feel. Not an argument or a debate. I think religious debates will break friendships and will make me more biased towards some beliefs, which is not what I want, as I can't afford to be more narrow-minded than I already am.

Shall stop here, and will leave you with my favourite Bible verses, as you, catface, always do in ur blog. Cheers.

"To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven; A time to be born, and a time to die; A time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill and a time to heal; A time to break down, and a time to build up; A time to weep, and a time to laugh; A time to mourn, and a time to dance; A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; A time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing; A time to get, and a time to lose; A time to keep, and a time to cast away; A time to rend, and a time to sew; A time to keep silence, and a time to speak; A time to love, and a time to hate; A time of war, and a time of peace."- Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

It's all bout balance.

9:50 a.m. - 2003-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: