monkeycrap's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Canada Trip - Day 11

Day 11 - BOEING!



I must admit, even from young, I've never been a big fan of breaking things up and putting them together, preferring re-enacting storylines and fights with action figures as compared to capering around with a lego set. Although I do enjoy the occasional breaking up of a bar of kitkat and putting it in my mouth. Anyway. So you can conceive my groaning enthusiasm with regards to going on a Boeing factory tour. It's an amazing company, it really is, but the truth is that while I marvel at the numbers quoted by our factory guide, I'm still pretty much more obsessed with the jumping-on-trampoline-ish pronounciation of the company's name. Boeing. BOEING. BOEING!! Boeingy-boeingy-boeingy.

But the factory was astonishingly gargantuan. Widest building in the world, or something like that. It's quite cool to be able to say stuff like, "Yeah, I open the doors of my office and it faces a runway." Or, "Yeah, I've to take a motorised buggy to get to Joe's table."

Wine tasting at a vineyard. Hmmm let's see I remember walking down a cellar strewn with oak barrels, with romantic, almost quixotic, dim lighting gently emancipating from hanging chandeliers, which tinted the whole place a lovely victorian monotone. I also remember reaching the wine tasting area, looking at the menu and asking for everything. I also remember draining all that was presented to me. Yup, don't remember anything after that.

Took a walk in the later part of the afternoon to the space needle, as well as the Experience Music Project,

the world's only rock museum, where you can view exhibits like music instruments, learn about rock history, listen to music, do your own live recording, play various instruments, experiment with sound recordings etc. It's a dream come true, except for a very minor issue. It was, well, kinda closed. Disappointed. Very disappointed.

But, thinking about it, you don't need a museum to appreciate music. Or to experience playing it. Not when you've done unlicensed 'busking' at the Wheelock Place tunnel before. Plus, I made full utilisation of the money which would've been used as entrance fee anyway. As entrance fee to the 'Howl at the Moon' bar.

It seemed a happening place as I passed it, so 'passed' became 'entered'. The music was rock n' roll, dished out by 3 fantastic musicians, 2 pianists and a drummer. The bar's culture is that they play songs based on requests made, which typically cost $1 per request. You hate the song, you pay $2 to override it. It's like a bidding thing. Very warm, the whole atmosphere. Just sat at the bar table with a vodka lime and moved to every song, or half a song, that they performed.

After that, boeinged back to the hostel, to end the day with a good night's sleep. At least that's how I remember the day went.

1:48 p.m. - 2006-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: